What’s the Difference Between Vegetarian and Vegan Pizza?

vegan pizza

Most people often confuse vegetarianism and veganism to mean the same thing, but they are not. The difference between the two appears murky as they share several similarities. Indeed vegetarians and vegans do not eat meat, but do they eat the same type of pizza?

This article aims to bring a distinction between vegetarian and vegan pizza and make it easier for you to try either of them if you haven’t. In Greenville, South Carolina, Pizza Artista offers you the best vegan pizza. You should visit us if you live in the city or are just passing through.

What’s the Core Difference Between Vegetarianism and Veganism? 

Vegans are people who shy away from all dairy products and animals, while vegetarians eat some dairy products, but also stay away from all animals. For example, a vegetarian might consume animal products, like milk and eggs, but won’t eat beef or chicken meat. Most people who become vegans or vegetarians do so for several reasons.

One of such reasons is their health concerns. For instance, a meat-rich diet can lead to stroke, heart disease, diabetes, and some cancer types. A person with these ailments might choose to become a vegan or vegetarian to prolong their life span. Religious restrictions are the second reason why people choose these diet types.

An excellent example of the preceding is Jainism. Those who practice this religion have strict rules for the protection of all life. So they shy away from meat, dairy products, and even fish. Jainism also forbids the consumption of most root vegetables as the entire plant dies while harvesting.

The third and perhaps the most common reason why people become vegans and vegetarians is a moral concern. Here, it is considered an act of violence and cruelty against animals to kill them for consumption or commercial products like clothes, shoes, and bags. Social concerns are why organizations like PETA exist.

While most vegans follow the same diet plan — abstaining from anything that comes from an animal — vegetarians tend to have different meal plans. Some of the common types of vegetarians are:

  • Lacto-Ovo or Ovo-Lacto comes from the Latin words for milk and egg. They are the most common vegetarian type, and those who follow this diet eat dairy products and eggs. However, they abstain from poultry and seafood.
  • Lacto vegetarians eat dairy products but no eggs, meat, poultry, or seafood.
  • Ovo vegetarians eat eggs but no dairy products, poultry, meat, or seafood.
  • Pesco vegetarians or pescatarians are not strictly vegetarians. People who follow this diet are half vegetarian as they eat fish and other seafood but no meat or poultry.

How Does Vegan Pizza Differ From Vegetarian Pizza? 

Most pizza lovers are often concerned that if they switch to a vegan or vegetarian diet, they might not enjoy their favorite food anymore. This fear is unfounded as you can enjoy pizza whether you’re a meat lover, vegan, or vegetarian. However, vegan pizza and vegetarian pizza are not the same.

The two differ in one fundamental way — cheese. Most cheeses are dairy products and one of the critical ingredients for most pizzas. Plus, it is a crowd-pleaser for those who have eliminated meat from their diets. But since vegans do not associate with dairy products, it means zero dairy cheese for them.

Thankfully, there are other cheese options in the market that are not dairy-based. At Greenville’s Pizza Artista, our vegan pizzas feature non-dairy cheese, so you can be sure of what you’re getting from us. What’s more, our pizza crust is vegan-friendly, as it’s free of eggs and dairy. Additionally, yeast is not vegan as it comes from a one-celled fungal organism.

On the other hand, vegetarian pizza contains dairy cheese, so vegetarians have different cheese options to choose from. The one similarity that vegan and vegetarian pizzas have is in their toppings. Since both vegans and vegetarians do not eat meat, they can substitute it with various vegetables.

A vegan or vegetarian piazza can have mushrooms, olives, green peppers, spinach, and tomato toppings. It’s also possible to experiment with a sauce, and the classic marinara sauces go well with vegetables. At Greenville’s Pizza Artista, we also offer traditional red pizza sauces, alfredo, BBQ, olive oil, pesto, spicy red, or Thai peanut.

Order the Best Vegan Pizza in Greenville, SC, From Pizza Artista!

At Greenville’s Pizza Artista, we make the best vegan pizza in all of South Carolina. We have the vision to provide world-class meals and hospitality with efficient and quick service. Our menu also comprises gluten-free and organic pizzas. Call us today to place an order or visit our pizzeria, and you’ll be glad you did.

LATEST POSTS

What Is the Difference Between Pizza Sauce vs. Pasta Sauce?
Best Toppings for Your Gluten-Free Pizza
Pizza Artista Serving Free Pizza to Hometown Heroes on October 1
What’s the Difference Between Vegetarian and Vegan Pizza?

Get a Free Quote Now